The National Domestic Violence Hotline 1-800-799-SAFE (7233)

Visit this link for to speak to highly trained expert advocates who are available 24/7 to talk confidentially with anyone experiencing domestic violence, seeking resources or information, or questioning unhealthy aspects of their relationship.

http://www.thehotline.org/help/

About FACE MY ABUSE COMMUNITY AWARENESS GROUP

My name is Jacqueline Rowe; I have been a survivor of Domestic Violence for over a decade and I am also a member of the Board of Directors at a Shelter for women who are victims of Domestic Violence. I started the organization Face My Abuse in 2006, doing interviews with Domestic Violence victims from my home, hoping that through my consultation it would bring them awareness and methods of prevention. Since then, FACE MY ABUSE has dedicated all of its efforts to raising awareness in Brooklyn with the sole purpose of eliminating Domestic Violence. As the Founder, in 2012, I decided to raise the bar in my community and created my first annual walk in the name of D.V. at Wingate Park. I funded the campaign by myself, reaching out to community leaders for support in being keynote speakers. I provided educational gift bags, beverages and food. It was a grand success, reaching 60- 70 attendees, giving each lady a forum to speak freely about their encounter with their abuser; while everyone took turns as we listened, cried, laughed and then walked. Everyone was satisfied and strongly suggested I keep it going.

Posted on December 1, 2013, in FACE MY ABUSE and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

